Mr Adeyinka Mafe, the majority leader in the Ogun House of Assembly, on Tuesday announced the withdrawal of his membership of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM).

Mafe, who represents Sagamu 1 State Constituency in the assembly, stated in his withdrawal letter read at plenary by Mr Suraj Adekunbi, the Speaker of the house, that he had returned to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

“I had earlier written a letter to leave APC.

“I write to officially withdraw the letter and I wish to notify you that I remain a member of APC Next Level, ” he stated.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Mafe and three other members on Nov. 29, 2018, resigned their membership of APC and defected to the APM.

The lawmakers announced their defection in separate letters read by the Speaker during plenary.

The three other defectors were the Chief Whip, Idowu Olowofuja who represents Abeokuta South II, Ganiyu Oyedeji (Ifo II) and Tunde Sanusi (Obafemi Owode).

NAN reports that since Mafe’s defection to APM, a new majority leader had not been elected.

Also during plenary, the Deputy Speaker, Mr Olakunle Oluomo, explained that it was important for the assembly to assess Ministries, Departments and Agencies, saying that the present administration was winding up.

“It is obvious that the state government is winding up.

“ There is need for the House to carry out an assessment of MDAs so that we can know where we are in the state before the government winds up, ” Oluomo, who represents Ifo 1, said

Leave a Reply