INEC has finally declared the winner of the Kogi state governorship election, in the person of Yahaya Bello, the substitute governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The supplementary election results showed that Bello won in 11 local government areas (LGAs) out of 19 in the state while Wada won in seven LGAs only.

From the result of the supplementary poll on Saturday, Bello won 6,885 votes to take APC’s unassailable lead to 247,742, while the incumbent governor, Idris Wada, got 5,363 votes, taking PDP’s total to 204,877.

But the election was declared inconclusive because the margin of votes (41,353) between the two leading candidates was less than the number of cancelled votes (49,953) which could theoretically affect the final outcome.


Facebook Comments