UNESCO Asia Pacific Awards is now accepting submissions and focusing on strengthening sustainable development countries’ cultural foundation. Awards standardize the practice of conserving heritage in a transformative way in the Asia Pacific region. UNESCO acknowledged cultural heritage to sustainable development through “Special Recognition for Sustainable Development” in 2020 and brought it into the 2030 agenda. UNESCO Asia Pacific Awards recognized the efforts of individuals, organizations, and heritage project conservation communities. Forty-eight projects from 9 countries submitted to the Awards program, and among them, seven projects of two countries received awards. Lai Chi Wo Rural Cultural Landscape in Hong Kong SAR China and Sunder Nursery, New Delhi, India got special recognition for Sustainable Development 2020.

Here are some more details about the UNESCO Asia Pacific Awards

Deadline is July 31, 2021Country: ThailandFinancial coverage: Fully FundedEligible Regions: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Iran, South Korea, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kiribati, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic, Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor Leste, Tokelau, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Viet Nam

Eligibility Criteria :

  • Projects completed within the past ten years.
  • Houses, institutional buildings, archaeological sites, historic towns and villages fit for entry.
  • Projects with new developments of cultural heritage through private sector involvement are fit for the category of awards.
  • Projects must be from the list of eligible countries provided above.

Benefits :

UNESCO Asia Pacific Awards will be given in four categories:

  • Award of Merit
  • Award of Excellence,
  • Award of Distinction,
  • Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts.

Other details :

  • Special Recognition for Sustainable Development.
  • Winners will get recognition within December 2021.
  • New projects with historical context will get an Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts.
  • New buildings, new public spaces would be in consideration for the category.
  • Projects which achieve the award will be recognized for Sustainable Development.

Deadline: July 31, 2021

Apply Now

Official Site

Leave a Reply