It was gathered that over 50 suspected cult members had been apprehended in numerous places in the past one week. The Lagos Police Command has stated that it has intensified the battle against cultism and cult actions l by storming the assembly and initiation ground of assorted cult teams, and arrested members.

The anti-cultism squad of the Lagos State Police Command led by Akaninyene Etuk, a Chief Superintendent of Police (CSP), the investigation revealed, apprehended various the suspects.

“However, it must be noted that from number 1 to 13 were arrested during rival cult fights while the rest were arrested while carrying out initiation rites.”

Others have been arrested by the various Divisional Police Officers (DPOs) throughout the state.

Confirming the arrests during a press briefing, Commissioner of Police, Lagos State Command, Edgal Imohimi, stated: “Some suspected cultists who have been terrorizing residents of the following areas of the state, Yaba, Ijora-Badia, Badagry and Igando were arrested during the period under review.”

According to him, some of the suspects were arrested while they were performing the rituals of initiating new members, while others have been arrested during cult clashes.

The arrested suspects included 34-year-old Okechukwu Okoro, 27-year-old Babatunde Seyi, 20-year-old Ahmed Oloshode, 25-year-old Yusuf Olawale, 25-year-old Shina Ajayi, 23-year-old Idowu Alade, 19-year-old Ashimu Wahab, 24-year-old Edeh Afamafuna, 24-year-old Odinaka Okpara, 26-year-old Samuel Ajata, 24-year-old Kelechukwu Maxwel.

Others were 32-year-old Emeka Paul, 28-year-old Ejike Momoh, 25-year-old Gafaru Awedu ,22-year-old Kazeem Garaba a.k.a ‘Akara’, 18-yer-old  Raheem Rilwan, 19-year-old Akani Faruk a.ok.a ‘Pepe’, 19-year-old Ganiyu Rasheed a.ok.a ‘Chinko, 18-year-old Dauda Hammed.

The remainder are 19-year-old Shola Suleiman, 27-year-old Ibrahim Abduramon, 43-year-old Ganiyu Yahaya, 22-year-old Elemah Emmanuel, 28-year-old Edun Omowunmi, 24-year-old Akapo Urthman, 28-year-old Sulaimon Olabisi and 25-year-old Mustapha David, Musibau Sodiq (27), Hosea Oriade (32), Okilade Kehinde (25), Idris Atobajaiye ( 22), Rasaki Lemboye(23) Mohamed Tajudeen(29) Adebayo Adedayo (36); Damilare Allen(26); Lukmon Olayinka(39), Isikwe Emine(17), Segun Oladunjoye(22); Dayo Emmanuel (24); Koledoye Damilola(33) Afolarin Shotayo (32), Azeez Oseni (30), Segun Bamidele (25), Femi Kehinde (22) Yusuf Olatunji (20), Matthew Afolabi (21), Fatai Oluwaseyi (23), Odunsi Olawale(25) Hassan, Adekunle (27) Francis Kehinde ( 23), Gbenga Olayinka (27), Ibrahim Ademola (29), Sodiq Shola (29); Tosin Yusuf ( 25) and 21-year-old Samson Kehinde.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply