AS this year’s edition of MTV award inches close, organizers have revealed that American singer, Kanye West will be honoured with the Video Music Award (VMA)’s highest honour, the “Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award,” for his career-spanning groundbreaking videos, legendary VMA performances, and continued impact on music, art, fashion, and culture.

The award will be presented during the live broadcast of the 2015 “MTV Video Music Awards” on Monday 31 August at 2am.

Throughout his career, West has blended musical and visual artistry to powerful effect. From his trilogy of videos for “Jesus Walks,” to the mind-bending animation of “Heartless,” to the arresting imagery of “Bound 2”, he’s pushed boundaries and delivered something new with every successive video.

He joins the prestigious list of past Vanguard recipients including Michael Jackson, Madonna, Peter Gabriel, Guns N’ Roses, Beastie Boys, Britney Spears, Justin Timberlake and Beyonce.

MTV has also revealed that Pharrell Williams, Demi Lovato, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Tori Kelly, A$AP Rocky and Twenty One Pilots will be performing at the awards, alongside previously announced performer The Weeknd.

The MTV VMA will air live across Africa on MTV (DStv channel 130) from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, on Monday 31 August at 2AM (official pre-show starts at 1AM; the primetime simulcast takes place on MTV/MTV Base on Monday 31 August at 7PM (pre-show) and 8PM (main show, August 26, 2015)

Organisers say the show will feature Miley Cyrus as host, while additional performers and presenters will be announced at a later date.

Leave a Reply